Current MSP: Christine Grahame (SNP) [MSP website]
Party Candidate Votes +/– % +/–
SNP Christine Grahame ^ 13855 +2884 43.5 +9.6
Liberal Democrat Jeremy Purvis * 8931 -839 28.0 -2.2
Labour Ian Miller 5312 -935 16.7 -2.6
Conservative Peter Duncan 3743 -1492 11.8 -4.4
Majority 4924 Turnout 31841 Swing +5.9% SNP win

This re-drawn seat gave the SNP a notional majority and having been their constituency candidate on three previous occasions, Christine Grahame finally won the seat from the Liberal Democrats. There was no way back on the list for Jeremy Purvis, whose vote held up much better than many other Liberal Democrats in this election. Peter Duncan, the Conservative challenger, was the MP for Galloway and Upper Nithsdale between 2001 and 2005.

Notes: Given boundary changes since 2007, variations in votes and share between seats with different boundaries would be misleading. We use the Denver figures, essentially a calculation of the 2007 votes cast within 2011 boundaries. More information on this here.

Symbols used:

* – Incumbent
^ – Challenger holding a list seat in previous Parliament
# – Lost deposit