Current MSP: James Kelly (Labour) [MSP website]
Party Candidate Votes +/– % +/–
Labour James Kelly * 12489 +111 46.0 +1.5
SNP Jim McGuigan 10710 +4279 39.5 +16.3
Conservative Martyn McIntyre 2096 -300 7.7 -0.9
Liberal Democrat Lisa Strachan # 1194 -4149 4.4 -14.8
Independent Caroline Johnstone # 633 +633 2.3 +2.3
Majority 1779 Turnout 27122 Swing +7.4% LAB hold

James Kelly held this seat for Labour, having first been elected in 2007 (taking over from the departing Janis Hughes) and also managing to record an increased vote. Caroline Johnstone resigned as a JP to stand as an independent candidate on a platform of anti-knife crime, but she, and the Lib Dem candidate, lost their deposits. Rutherglen was the first seat to announce its result in 2011, giving an indication of the swing to the SNP which was apparent throughout Scotland.

Notes: Given boundary changes since 2007, variations in votes and share between seats with different boundaries would be misleading. We use the Denver figures, essentially a calculation of the 2007 votes cast within 2011 boundaries. More information on this here.

Symbols used:

* – Incumbent
^ – Challenger holding a list seat in previous Parliament
# – Lost deposit