Central Scotland Region
Current MSP: Michael McMahon (Labour) [MSP website]

Party Candidate Votes +/- % +/-
Labour Michael McMahon 11531 -1697 46.1 -3.5
SNP Richard Lyle 10817 +3173 43.3 +14.6
Conservative Mark Brown 2117 -619 8.5 -1.8
Liberal Democrat Fraser Macgregor # 530 -1207 2.1 -4.4
Majority 714 Turnout 24995 Swing +9.0% LAB hold

Michael McMahon had been an MSP since 1999 and was returned for the fourth time, albeit on a much reduced majority. He is currently Labour’s spokesperson on local government. Richard Lyle, one of the SNP’s longest serving councillors, was returned on the regional list. The Liberal Democrat candidate, Fraser Macgregor, lost his deposit.

Notes: Given boundary changes since 2007, variations in votes and share between seats with different boundaries would be misleading. We use the Denver figures, essentially a calculation of the 2007 votes cast within 2011 boundaries. More information on this here.

Symbols used:

* – Incumbent
^ – Challenger holding a list seat in previous Parliament
# – Lost deposit