Current MSP: Fiona McLeod (SNP) [MSP website]
Party Candidate Votes +/– % +/–
SNP Fiona McLeod 14258 +6314 42.2 +20.0
Labour David Whitton * 12456 +929 36.9 +4.6
Conservative Stephanie Fraser 4438 -465 13.1 -0.6
Liberal Democrat Gordon Findlay Macdonald 2600 -1745 7.7 -4.5
Majority 1802 Turnout 33752 Swing +7.7% SNP gain

This constituency has had an interesting history. First won by Labour’s Sam Galbraith in 1999, it was held by Brian Fitzpatrick for Labour in a by-election in 2001 when Galbraith stood down due to ill health. Fitzpatrick lost the seat in 2003 to an independent health campaigner, retired GP Dr Jean Turner. Labour’s David Whitton won it back in 2007 but he was defeated by the SNP’s Fiona McLeod in 2011 despite a substantial increase in his vote. McLeod is a returning MSP, having been elected on the West of Scotland list in 1999.

Notes: Given boundary changes since 2007, variations in votes and share between seats with different boundaries would be misleading. We use the Denver figures, essentially a calculation of the 2007 votes cast within 2011 boundaries. More information on this here.

Symbols used:

* – Incumbent
^ – Challenger holding a list seat in previous Parliament
# – Lost deposit